AZ advance to next round Dutch cup

Published on 22 september 11, 00:00
ALKMAAR- AZ have advanced to the next round of the Dutch cup against FC Groningen after a 4-2 win after extra time. Nick Viergever, Niklas Moisander, Adam Maher and Johann Berg Gudmundsson were accurate. Ali Messaoud and Kevin Luckassen made their debut for AZ.

It didn’t start good for AZ when Jozy Altidore was pulled off just before kick-off with an ankle injury. Brett Holman came in on the left wing position while Gudmundsson took the number nine spot. In defense Ragnar Klavan started for Nick Viergever who was given rest.


Within five minutes FC Groningen had opened the score when David Texeira beat Esteban. It was the sign for AZ to take over and dominate the game. Adam Maher, Simon Poulsen, Pontus Wernbloom, Roy Beerens and Holman all came close to scoring the equalizer.

Equalizing goal

After the break the style of play didn’t change. AZ kept dominating and looking for the equalizing goal while FC Groningen hardly crossed midfield. Gudmundsson got the best chance but failed to punish a Dusan Tadic mistake. In the 76th minute substitute Viergever did score after a Wernbloom header hit the crossbar.


In the extra time AZ took matters in its own hands. Captain Niklas Moisander scored with a long shot and Maher scored from a rebound after Dirk Marcellis hit the post. In the final phase of extra time FC Groningen defender Tim Keurntjes scored 3-2 and Gudmundsson got the decisive 4-2.


Two protégés from the AZ Youth Academy made their debut against FC Groningen, Messaoud and Luckassen. Messaoud was unlucky. Four minutes after he came onto the pitch he broke his jaw on two places and lost a tooth.

FC Dordrecht

In the next round of the KNVB cup AZ play an away match against second division club FC Dordrecht. This match is scheduled on 26th, 27th or 28th of October.

AZ – FC Groningen 4-2 a.e.t. (0-1)
KNVB cup

Lineup AZ: Esteban; Dirk Marcellis, Niklas Moisander, Ragnar Klavan, Simon Poulsen (62. Nick Viergever); Pontus Wernbloom, Rasmus Elm, Adam Maher; Roy Beerens, Johann Berg Gudmundsson, Brett Holman (68. Ali Messaoud, 75. Kevin Luckassen).
Lineup FC Groningen: Brian van Loo; Tom Hiariej (46. Johan Kappelhof), Virgil van Dijk, Jonas Ivens, Lorenzo Burnet (101. Tim Keurntjes); Leandro Bacuna, Maikel Kieftenbeld, Petter Andersson (53. Danny Holla), Tim Sparv, Dusan Tadic; David Texeira.

Goals: 5. Texeira 0-1, 76. Viergever 1-1, 93. Moisander 2-1, 98. Maher 3-1, 103. Keurntjes 3-2, 115. Gudmundsson 4-2.
Bookings: Klavan, Maher, Wernbloom, Viergever (AZ) Burnet, Bacuna, Van Loo (FC Groningen).
Sent-offs: 97e min. Sparv (2x yellow), 120e min. Ivens.
Referee: Bas Nijhuis.
Attendance: 7.160