AZ earn seventh home win against FC Utrecht

Published on 25 november 11, 00:00
ALKMAAR- AZ achieved their seventh consecutive home win on Friday evening against FC Utrecht. Due to a Rasmus Elm free-kick and a hammering Johann Berg Gudmundsson shot AZ secured the solid lead in the Eredivisie: 2-0.

AZ started with the same eleven players as they did in the postponed match against Excelsior. From the first minute of the match AZ made their intentions clear and showed why they are the current Eredivisie leaders. However it were the visitors who got two great chances through Leon de Kogel and Daan Bovenberg.

On the other side Roy Beerens was continuously threatening for FC Utrecht. After merely thirty minutes his opponent Dave Bulthuis – who was already booked by then – was replaced to his dissatisfaction. Pontus Wernbloom also received a booking what causes him to miss the coming league match against sc Heerenveen.

Brett Holman was twice close to opening the scoring. First he saw his effort saved by FC Utrecht goalkeeper Rob van Dijk, second he saw his shot hit the post and go wide after an assist from Jozy Altidore.

Once again Rasmus Elm was needed to break the spell. For the eight time this season the Swedish national team player beat the opponent’s goalkeeper. Van Dijk could only watch and see the ball fly into the net: 1-0

After the opening goal FC Utrecht showed no more believe in a good result, even though Simon Poulsen was lucky when referee Ed Janssen did not see a penalty in his handball. On the other side Holman, Adam Maher and substitute Charlison Benschop got chances to increase the scoring before Johann Berg Gudmundsson hammered home the 2-0.

AZ – FC Utrecht 2-0 (0-0)

Lineup AZ: Esteban; Etiënne Reijnen, Niklas Moisander, Nick Viergever (70. Ragnar Klavan), Simon Poulsen; Pontus Wernbloom, Rasmus Elm, Adam Maher; Roy Beerens, Jozy Altidore (80. Charlison Benschop), Brett Holman (77. Johann Berg Gudmundsson).
Lineup FC Utrecht: Rob van Dijk; Daan Bovenberg, Marcus Nilsson, Jan Wuytens, Dave Bulthuis (36. Mark van der Maarel); Johan Martensson (74. Adam Sarota), Rodney Sneijder (70. Frank Demouge), Anouar Kali, Michael Zullo; Edouard Duplan, Leon de Kogel.

Goals: 67. Elm 1-0, 81. Gudmundsson 2-0.
Bookings: Wernbloom, Moisander (AZ), Bulthuis, Martensson, De Kogel, Wuytens (FC Utrecht).
Sent-off: -
Referee: Ed Janssen
Attendance: 16.611