AZ winter champions after beating De Graafschap

Published on 10 december 11, 00:00
ALKMAAR- AZ have won the home match on Saturday against De Graafschap: 4-0. Because of the victory AZ is winter champion of the 2001-2012 season. Adam Maher, Simon Poulsen, Vito Wormgoor (o.g.) and Charlison Benschop scored.

After the 5-1 defeat against sc Heerenveen and the 0-0 draw against Excelsior AZ had to show their abilities against De Graafschap.

Especially Brett Holman and Simon Poulsen played an striking role on the left. A combination between the two led to the opening goal from Adam Maher, who hammered the ball merciless in the goal behind De Graafschap goalkeeper Yves De Winter: 1-0.

The second goal found its origin on the left as well. Holman sent away Poulsen who shot the ball calmly underneath De Winter: 2-0. Esteban had to work as well when Michael de Leeuw almost surprised him with a nice volley.

After the break AZ continued their dominating strike. Jozy Altidore could have made it much worse for De Graafschap but he missed three opportunities before he was on the base of the 3-0, when his header accidently ended in the goal through a own goal by Vito Wormgoor. Charlison Benschop was responsible for the 4-0 when he beat De Winter with a chip.

With one league match to go AZ can name itself winter champions of the 2011-2012 season. From the three times earlier AZ became winter champions (1980-1981, 2004-2005 and 2008-2009) AZ twice won the league title.

AZ – De Graafschap 4-0 (2-0)

Lineup AZ: Esteban; Etiënne Reijnen, Niklas Moisander, Nick Viergever, Simon Poulsen; Pontus Wernbloom, Rasmus Elm (62. Ragnar Klavan), Adam Maher; Roy Beerens (70. Charlison Benschop), Jozy Altidore, Brett Holman (68. Johann Berg Gudmundsson).
Lineup De Graafschap: Yves De Winter; Jochem Jansen, Vito Wormgoor, Ted van de Pavert, Purrel Fränkel (72. Xhelil Abdulla); Michael de Leeuw, Rogier Meijer, Yuri Rose, Sjoerd Overgoor (58. Caner Cavlan); Rydell Poepon (37. Lion Kaak), Soufian El Hassnaoui.

Goals: 23. Maher 1-0, 31. Poulsen 2-0, 54. Wormgoor 3-0 (e.d.), 79. Benschop 4-0.
Bookings: -
Sent-off: -

Referee: Richard Liesveld.
Attendance: 16.198