Maher's extra-time goal seals cup win AZ

Published on 27 oktober 11, 00:00
DORDRECHT- An extra-time goal brought AZ the 2-3 victory to qualify for the eight finals of the KNVB cup. Against first division side FC Dordrecht AZ gave away a 0-2 lead only to seal the win in extra-time. Pontus Wernbloom and Ragnar Klavan scored for AZ before Adam Maher produced the winning goal.

AZ dominated the first half without excelling. Jozy Altidore headed a Roy Beerens cross in the hands of FC Dordrecht goalkeeper Nick van der Ploeg and Beerens saw his shot stopped by the goalkeeper. On the edge of the break Pontus Wernbloom headed home a cross from Beerens for the opening goal: 0-1.

After the break FC Dordrecht tried to do something back through Santy Hulst (header) and Giorgio Achterberg (shot) but all seemed fine for AZ when FC Dordrecht goalkeeper Nick van der Ploeg let go of a Maher free-kick and Ragnar Klavan doubled the scoring from the rebound: 0-2.

Within two minutes things changed. First Shayron Curiel beat Esteban from close by, then Hulst was rewarded with a goal. The forward, who is originating from the AZ youth academy, saw his shot fly into the net: 2-2. Trying to prevent extra-time substitute Fernando Lewis was close to scoring for AZ.

Halfway extra-time it was Maher who brought the lead back to AZ when Niklas Moisander positioned him in front of the goal: 2-3. In the final phase of the second half of extra-time FC Dordrecht got one chance to equalize but the free-kick from Jeffrey Rijsdijk went over the goal.


FC Dordrecht – AZ 2-3 e.t. (0-1)

KNVB cup

Lineup FC Dordrecht: Nick van der Ploeg; Roderick Gielisse, Josimar Lima, Johan Versluis (68. Mawouna Amevor), Tom Beugelsdijk; Danny Post (64. Björn Vlasblom), Jeffrey Rijsdijk, Santy Hulst; Giorgio Achterberg, Cecilio Lopes (74. Jessy Mayele), Shayron Curiel.
Lineup AZ: Esteban; Etiënne Reijnen, Niklas Moisander, Ragnar Klavan, Giliano Wijnaldum; Pontus Wernbloom, Nick Viergever, Adam Maher; Roy Beerens (45. Charlison Benschop), Jozy Altidore (65. Fernando Lewis), Johann Berg Gudmundsson (71. Celso Ortiz).
Goals: 45. Wernbloom 0-1, 61. Klavan 0-2, 71. Curiel 1-2, 73. Hulst 2-2, 90+7. Maher 2-3.
Bookings: Beugelsdijk (FC Dordrecht), Esteban (AZ).
Sent-off:  -
Referee: Pieter Vink.
Attendance: 3.204