Verbeek nominated for Rinus Michels Award

Published on 05 april 12, 00:00
ALKMAAR- Gertjan Verbeek has been nominated for the Coach of the Year award 2011/12. The AZ coach faces competition from Frank de Boer, Peter Bosz, Ronald Koeman and Art Langeler. The award will be presented on Friday. May 18.

The Rinus Michels Award was introduced for the first time in the 2003/04 season to honour the legendary former coach. It is an annual prize supported by the official football coaches Union (Coaches Betaald Voetbal).

Verbeek was one of the contenders for the award in the 2007/08 and 2009/10, when Fred Rutten and Steve McClaren won the prize. AZ coach Co Adriaanse was named Coach of  the Year in 2004 and AZ coach Louis van Gaal won the award twice, in 2007 and 2009.